

Department of Energy Office of Science

Pacific Northwest Site Office P.O. Box 350, K9-42 Richland, Washington 99352

OCT 1, 2024

24-PNSO-0260

ADDRESSEES – SEE LIST

Dear Sir/Madam:

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ACT ANNOUNCEMENT OF PUBLIC AVAILABILITY OF THE DRAFT PACIFIC NORTHWEST NATIONAL LABORATORY AQUATIC RESEARCH ACTIVITIES IN SEQUIM BAY AND THE STRAIT OF JUAN DE FUCA DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY/ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT-2271

The Department of Energy (DOE) Pacific Northwest Site Office (PNSO) announces the availability of the Draft Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) Sequim Campus Future Development Environmental Assessment (EA) for a one-month comment period. The Draft EA may be found at the following url: *PNSO Environmental Assessments (... | U.S. DOE Office of Science (SC) (osti.gov)*.

The comment period will commence on October 1st, 2024, and run through October 31st, 2024. DOE will hold both virtual and in-person public meetings to attain public input on the proposed activity.

A virtual meeting will be held on October 17th DOE from 6:30pm-8:00pm. Registration for the zoom virtual meeting can be found at the following link: <u>https://pnnl.zoomgov.com/meeting/register/vJIscOCprz0jE4Xfgk4XJ4jQHsrH5cAPWDY</u>

Two in-person meetings will be held on October 23rd at the John Wayne Marina Hendricks Public Meeting room, located at 2577 W Sequim Bay Rd, Sequim, WA 98382. The first meeting is scheduled from 2:00pm to 4:00pm, and the second is scheduled from 7:00pm to 9:00pm. A 30-minute informational session will start each of the two meetings, followed by a short presentation on the scope of the EA, and an open comment period.

Written comments may also be submitted through mail or email at the following addresses: Email: <u>PNSOManager@science.doe.gov</u> Mailing address: US Department of Energy Pacific Northwest Site Office PO Box 350, K9-42 Richland, WA 99354 For questions about the meeting, please contact Jacob Skeels, Business Division, at (509) 372-4365.

Sincerely,

Julie K. Turner Digitally signed by Julie K. Turner Date: 2024.10.01 06:01:03 -07'00'

Julie K. Turner Manager

OPS:TMM

cc: E. G. Damberg, PNNL J. W. Duling, PNNL H. L. Newsome, PNNL E. S. Norris, PNNL A. L. Miracle, PNNL J. M. Robinson, PNNL D. M. Storms, PNNL

Addressee List for National Environmental Policy Act Announcement of Public Availability of the Draft Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Aquatic Research Activities in Sequim Bay and the Strait of Juan de Fuca Department of Energy/Environmental Assessment-2271

Kate Dexter, City of Port Angeles Nathan West, City of Port Angeles Brandon Janisse, City of Sequim Matthew Huish, City of Sequim Kathy Downer, City of Sequim Dan Butler, City of Sequim Vicki Lowe, City of Sequim Rachel Anderson, City of Sequim Harmony Rutter, City of Sequim Nicole Hartman, City of Sequim Christy Cox, Clallam Conservation District Randy Johnson, Clallam County Mark Ozias, Clallam County Mike French, Clallam County Todd Mielke, Clallam County Bruce Emery, Clallam County Rebecca Mahan, Clallam County Marine Resources Committee Suzy Ames, Clallam Economic Development Council Colleen McAleer, Clallam Economic Development Council, Port of Port Angeles Jonathan W. Smith Sr., Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon Allison O'Brien, Department of Interior Ellie Ausmuss, Friends of Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge Darlene Hollum, Hoh Tribe William Ron Allen, Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe Kate Dean, Jefferson County Heidi Eisenhour, Jefferson County Greg Brotherton, Jefferson County Mark McCauley, Jefferson County Josh Peters, Jefferson County Joe Holtrop, Jefferson County Conservation District Jansen Tidmore, Jefferson County Economic Development Corporation Linda Benson, League of Women Voters of Clallam County Francis Charles, Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe Anthony Hillaire, Lummi Nation Tribe Timothy J. Greene Sr., Makah Tribe NOAA NEPA Inbox, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Katherine Renshaw, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration David Brownell, North Olympic History Center President, Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society Jeff Johnston, Olympic Region Clean Air Agency Amber Caldera, Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe

Addressees - See List 24-PNSO-0260

Connie Beauvais, Port of Port Angeles Steven Burke, Port of Port Angeles Doug Woodruff, Quileute Tribe Eran Kennedy, Sequim Chamber of Commerce Beth Pratt, Sequim Chamber of Commerce Leonard Forsman, Suquamish Tribe Pam Sanguinetti, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers John Robertson, U.S. Coast Guard Casey Sixkiller, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Rebecca Chu, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Karen Burgess, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Andrew Baca, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Krishna Viswanathan, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Jennifer Brown-Scott, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Staff, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Derek Kilmer, U.S. Representative Heather Hall, Wahington Department of Fish and Wildlife Danielle Zitomer, Wahington Department of Fish and Wildlife Jill Wood, Washington Department of Health Laura Watson, Washington State Department of Ecology Vince McGowan, Washington State Department of Ecology Fran Sant, Washington State Department of Ecology Joe Thomas, Washington State Department of Ecology SEPA Mailbox, Washington State Department of Ecology Olympic Region Mailbox, Washington State Department of Natural Resources Birdie Davenport, Washington State Department of Natural Resources Chris Chappell, Washington State Department of Natural Resources Allyson Brooks, Washington State Historic Preservation Officer Steve Tharinger, Washington State Legislature Kevin Van De Wege, Washington State Legislature Lauren Bromley, Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission Mike Chapman, Washington State Representative Maria Cantwell, Washington State Senate Patty Murray, Washington State Senate